Prototypes


Dock, originally uploaded by jatherton.

I went on an urban hike with Tim today. We followed the North Branch of the Chicago River from North Avenue to Wolf Point. Once downtown we made our way to the Art Institute for lunch and then checked out their exhibit of Lewis Baltz photographs 'Lewis Baltz: Prototypes/Ronde de Nuit'. I was struck by how similar some of the shots that I had been taking earlier on our walk were to Baltz' photographs in the exhibition.

This is one of the shots that I took on Goose Island. The photos in the Baltz exhibit were all black and whites, and I was tempted to follow suit, but in the end I decided to stick with my original plan and develop these in colour as I love the different tones and hues in the brickwork.

The walk across Goose Island and into downtown is an interesting one. You start in a mix of old and newer light industry, as you head south old warehouse buildings like this one start to prevail, and gradually, as you approach downtown, the warehouse buildings have been 'beautified' and converted into condos. I prefer them pre-beautification, but I am glad that many have been saved rather than facing the wrecking ball.